February 24, 2016

Asian Canadian Writers’ Workshop Emerging Writers Award Poetry Award Guidelines


The ACWW Emerging Writers Award (EWA) was established in 1999 to help authors of Pacific Rim Asian heritage be published with an established publishing house. The winner of the first award was poet, Rita Wong (Monkeypuzzle, published by Press Gang.) Madeleine Thien won the second award in 2001 for her short story collection, Simple Recipes. This manuscript impressed McClelland & Stewart so much that they offered Madeleine a two-book deal. Simple Recipes went on to win the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize, the City of Vancouver Book Prize, and was a finalist in the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book.

The ACWW Emerging Writer Award is a community-building initiative of the Asian Canadian Writers’ Workshop to encourage the development of quality manuscripts and finished works by new writers in our community.

The 2016 competition is for a poetry manuscript and the 2017 contest is for a book-length work of fiction by an Asian-Canadian writer of Pacific Rim Asian heritage who has not previously published any book-length work of any genre in traditional or digital form.

The Author
The author must be a Canadian of Pacific Rim Asian heritage (including East Asian or Southeast Asian descent) and an emerging writer who has not previously self-published or traditionally published a book-length work of any genre in traditional or digital form. After a manuscript is submitted to the EWA competition, the author agrees not to submit the work to any publishers until after the manuscript has been released from the EWA competition in September 2016 (or September 2017 for the fiction competition.) Receipt and release of the manuscript will be acknowledged in a timely fashion.

The Jury
The jury will be comprised of three members of the writing community. If there is no work of sufficiently high quality, the jury may decide that there is no winner.

Deadline for manuscripts:
Submissions for the 2016 poetry competition must be postmarked by July 1, 2016.
Submissions for the 2017 fiction competition must be postmarked by June 1, 2017.

1) Completed application form (download for attachment).
2) $25.00 registration fee entitles the entrant to a year’s membership in ACWW. Cheque written out to: Asian Canadian Writers' Workshop Society.
3) Three print copies of the manuscript in addition to a digital copy to be sent to: submissions@asiancanadianwriters.ca. Printed manuscripts must be bound: no loose or stapled sheets will be accepted. The copies of the manuscripts must be single size printed form only. Submitted manuscripts will not be returned upon completion of contest.

Please send submissions to:

ACWW Emerging Writing Award Poetry 2016
#2 – 3572 SE Marine Drive,
Vancouver, British Columbia
V5S 4R3

For queries and media contact
Jim Wong-Chu: jwongchu@asiancanadianwriters.ca or 604-355-5795

Deadline for manuscripts: must be postmarked by July 1, 2016.

Announcement of Winner
The winner will be announced at during the 2016 literASIAN: A Festival of Pacific Rim Asian Canadian Writing Festival in September 23-25, 2016.